点对点借贷行业的发展

点对点借贷行业始于2005 – 2006年的英国和美国,在过去十年中已发展到许多国家,而中国则增长最快。P2P借贷在欧洲也称为众贷,在北美也称为市场借贷,但是这些术语均指同一现象 – “众包借贷”或“社会借贷”。P2P借贷平台使融资过程中的借方与贷方之间可以进行互动。为了创建一个运作良好的市场,平台最重要的两项工作是招募借款人和放款人,并制定参与规则和条款。除了做市,主要功能还包括贷款处理及有助于建立社区的活动。

P2P借贷行业是独一无二的。它的特殊之处在于,放款人和借款人均从业务关系中获利。借款人及时安全地获得所需资金或服务,与此同时,向P2P平台投入资金的投资者/放款人可从财务周转和诱人的年费中获得实际利润。可以肯定地说,除了向P2P平台投资,没有任何一家现有银行会为您提供这样的利润。

传统上,点对点借贷平台的主要收入来源是向借款人收取的贷款发放费,向放款人收取的还款手续费或其它费用,例如贷款部分交易费和滞纳金。P2P借贷平台赚取收入的方式主要取决于平台的业务模型以及投资的结构方式。在过去十年中,P2P借贷平台已从为数不多的初创企业发展成为欣欣向荣、坐拥数十亿美元的产业。

尽管P2P借贷具有诸多好处,而且专家预测该行业将会继续发展,最终达到万亿美元,但P2P借贷仍然远未实现其作为主流金融资源的目标。实际上,该行业一直充斥着违约率、欺诈和监管等问题,由于欺诈,仅在线P2P借贷中就有高达10%以上的记录。

鉴于其分布式账本技术,区块链可在这方面提供帮助,使流程更加安全可靠。区块链可以开创一个财务透明的新时代,并会奖励最佳行为。区块链允许双方以有效、不变及可验证的方式记录其交易。它为防止未经授权的访问提供强大的屏障,从各个方面帮助预防欺诈;而欺诈则是威胁P2P借贷行业快速增长和扩展的最大问题之一。将金融数据及合约之类的数字资产放在区块链上,P2P借贷平台便可遏制欺诈和身份盗窃等问题,同时恢复借款人与放款人之间以及平台之间的透明度。自2019年以来,主要银行和金融服务开始以各种方式采用区块链技术,包括建立全球支付网络。

The Evolution of Peer-to-peer Lending Industry

Started in the UK and US in 2005-2006, peer-to-peer lending industry has since grown to many countries over the last decade, with the fastest growth in China. P2P lending is also known as crowdlending in Europe or marketplace lending in North America, but these terms all refer to the same phenomenon – “crowd lending” or “social lending”. P2P lending platforms enable interactions between the borrowers and lenders side of the funding process. To create a well-functioning marketplace, the two most essential jobs for platforms are to recruit borrowers and lenders and to set the rules and terms of engagement. Besides market-making, key functions also include loan processing and activities contributing to building a community.

The P2P lending industry is unique. Its special feature is that both lenders and borrowers profited from the business relations. The borrower gets the needed money securely or services in time, and at the same time, investors/lenders who invest money into the P2P platform, gain real profit from the financial turnover and attractive annual fee. It is safe to say that no existing bank will provide you with such profit apart from investing money into the P2P platform.

Traditionally, the main sources of income for platforms in peer-to-peer lending are origination fees charged to the borrower, repayment fees charged to the lender, or other fees like loan part trading and late fees. How a P2P lending platform earns revenue depends largely on the business model of the platform and how the investment is structured. Over the last decade, P2P lending platforms have evolved from a handful of start-ups to a flourishing multi-billion-dollar industry.

Despite the benefits that P2P lending provides and the projections of experts that the industry would grow on to reach trillion-dollar industry, P2P lending is still far from realizing its goals as mainstream financial resources. In fact, the sector has been fraught with issues of default rates, frauds, and regulatory issues and recorded as high as more than 10% in online P2P lending alone, due to frauds.

This is where blockchain can help make processes more secure and reliable, given its distributed ledger technology. Blockchain can usher in a new era of financial transparency and reward the best behavior. Blockchain allows two parties to record their transactions in an efficient, immutable, and verifiable manner. It provides a strong barrier against unauthorized access which helps manifold in preventing fraud; one of the biggest issues threatening the rapid growth and expansion of the P2P lending industry. By putting their digital assets such as financial data and contracts on blockchain, P2P lending platforms can curb the issues of fraud and identity theft while restoring transparency between borrowers and lenders, as well as the platforms. Since 2019, major banks and financial services are starting to adopt blockchain technology in a variety of way, including building a global payment network.